Facebook Privacy Fails

Nowadays, most people stay connected through Facebook. However, Facebook has had many accounts of privacy failure in the last couple of years. Starting in 2009, Facebook reset their privacy settings. This allowed anyone in the public to see your “about me” page, friends lists, and posts such as status updates and photos.

Facebook once again failed when they manually switched privacy settings to “friends only” mode. This was disruptive to users because 13 million U.S. Facebook users have never opened their privacy settings and 17% of users still do not use privacy settings at all. This did not prevent all personal information from being shared with 3rd party applicants though…

In 2010, despite Facebook’s own privacy policy section 5, “We do not share your information with advertisers without your consent.” Facebook was caught giving user information to online giants. The user information was being used to recommend products on other sites.

Once Facebook launched their “timeline” view of the social site, people reacted in ways from only 7.96% liking the new timeline to 51.29% being worried about the new look. Once the timeline was turned on, you could not turn it off and unearthed material from years ago was putting many users in awkward spots.

Facebook went public in 2012 and became more focused on making money, at the expense of users. So, how do you feel about the privacy issues Facebook is putting their users through? Check out the infographic below presented by topwebdesignschools.org to learn more about Facebook’s privacy fails.

About Brian Wallace

Brian Wallace is the President of NowSourcing, Inc., a premier social media firm specializing in infographic design, development and content marketing promotion. The company is based in Louisville, KY and works with companies that range from small business to Fortune 500.

Speak Your Mind

*